Spotlight on Spain: A Look into Motherhood by Laura Caldarola

Spring ’17 took us across the sea for this season’s photoshoot. The bustle and backdrop of Spain was certainly different from locations we’ve used in the United States, but we discovered similarities of our cultures, shining brightly in the love between a mother and child.

 We share a glimpse of motherhood in Spain through the eyes of Laura Caldarola, one of our Spring ’17 models, (along with her son, Leonardo). Laura lives in Madrid, and is a blogger for Elle Magazine in Spain. She also just shared with us that she is expecting baby #2! We asked Laura questions about pregnancy, and raising a little one in Spain. (English has been translated from Spanish.)

Spotlight on Spain: A Look into Motherhood by Laura Caldarola

Describe what it is like to be a mother Spain?

EN: My experience as a mom began in Italy, where I gave birth to Leonardo and now it continues in Spain. At just one month postpartum I left my country and we went to live in Madrid. My first pregnancy was 100% Italian, while this second pregnancy is Madrileno. I am 17 weeks pregnant and at this moment there is nothing too different. Although, I do have to say, I do respect Italy. Here in Spain they are less strict about pregnancy rules (for instance what to eat, what to avoid). The good part about being pregnant in this country is that it is always a good time and ideal for long trips. Something that struck me when I arrived to Madrid with Leonardo was that children aren’t allowed in some restaurants, it seems to me a little un-modern and inappropriate. Another thing that left me ‘mouth-wide-open’ is that there aren’t any vegetarians and raising your child with such philosophy is difficult.

ES: Mi experiencia como madre empezó en Italia, donde di a la luz a Leonardo y continuó en España. Tras un solo mes del parto, dejé mi país y fuimos a vivir a Madrid. Mi primer embarazo fue 100% italiano, mientras el segundo es madrileño, estoy embarazada de 17 semanas. De momento no hay algo especialmente único, tengo que decir que respeto Italia, aquí en España son menos estrictos con las reglas del embarazo. Lo maravilloso de estar embarazada en este país es que el sol brilla cada día y por eso es ideal para dar largos paseos. Algo que me impresionó mucho cuando llegué a Madrid con Leonardo fue que en algunos restaurante no dejaban entrar con niños, me pareció algo muy poco moderno e inapropiado. Otra cosa que me dejó bastante boquiabierta fue que no hay casi vegetarianos y criar a tu hijo según esta filosofía es muy difícil.

You have spent a lot of time in Germany as well, how does it compare to Spain?

EN: Jose, my partner, lived in Berlin, I would travel quite often to go see him, but did not live there. What I can say about Berlin, as compared to Madrid, is that it is a city that is much more “kid friendly”, there are restaurants and bars where there is a designated space for kids, and they have wood toys, this does not exist in Spain.

ES: José, mi pareja, vivía en Berlín, yo solía ir bastante a menudo a verle, pero no he vivido allí. Lo que puedo decir de Berlín, comparado con Madrid, es que es una ciudad mucho más “kids friendly”, hay restaurantes y bares donde los niños tienen su espacio y están organizados con juguetes de madera, esto en España no existe sino en las ludotecas.

What are your biggest wishes and dreams for both of your kids?

EN: I try to educate my children following my values: freedom, respect, love for themselves, love towards others, and hope. My biggest wish for them is that they feel fulfilled and strong to face this crazy world, and that they aren’t afraid of anything, that they are trusting in life and the good that there is.

ES: Intento educar a mis hijos siguiendo mis valores: la libertad y el respeto, el amor hacía ellos mismos y hacía los demás y a la esperanza. Mi deseo más grande para ellos es que puedan sentirse realizados y fuertes para afrontar este loco mundo y que no tengan miedo a nada, más bien confianza en la vida y en lo bueno que hay.

What in motherhood has surprised you the most?

EN: Suddenly you get this natural instinct that allows you to survive nights without sleep, interpret the cry of a baby, feed it with your own body…and the infinite patience, it’s a constant training of sacrifice that you end up liking/loving, because the reward is so great. Discovering a love that is much more immense than anything you have experienced, that’s life.

ES: Como de pronto te entra un instinto natural que te permite sobrevivir a noches sin dormir, interpretar el lloro de un bebé, darle de comer con tu proprio cuerpo…..y la paciencia que se alarga hasta el infinito, un entrenamiento constante al sacrificio que acaba gustándote, porque la recompensa es muy grande. Descubrir un amor que es más inmenso que cualquier cosa que hayas probado en tu vida, es la vida.

How do you think motherhood has changed in Spain?

EN: It saddens me because it hasn’t changed much on a general level. The academic education is startling, the schools continue to look the same as when our parents attended, as well as the way they teach. Although, I do notice a change in the families, more and more parents value education and understanding.

ES: Me da mucha pena porque creo que ha cambiado muy poco en términos generales, la educación escolar es lo más asombroso, los colegios siguen siendo iguales a los de nuestros padres, la forma de enseñanza también. Mientras noto un cambio en las familias, siempre más los padres valoran una educación más cercana y de comprensión

Describe a typical day for you and your family?

EN: Leonardo goes to school in the morning, while Jose and I work. With me being a freelancer, I organize my day so that I could have the afternoon free to spend with Leonardo. I pick him up at school at 4:30 then we make several plans together; if it’s not cold we go to the park to meet up with friends, when it is cold, several moms organize a place to meet for appetizers/snacks whether it’s an establishment or someone’s house (we usually take turns).
In the summer we usually go up to the terrace on our floor where we put out a small pool where Leornardo and his friends play, while we the moms drink and chat. Jose gets home at about 8, Leornardo eats dinner at that hour. The three of us spend about an hour together. At about 9 we go to Leonardo’s bedroom, we throw ourselves on the floor and we tell stories, talk about our day, pray and sing. On the weekends we spend every moment of the day together, but we always like to make plans with friends.

ES: Por la mañana Leonardo va al colegio, mientras José y yo trabajamos. Yo siendo autónoma, me organizo el día para tener la tarde libera y estar con Leonardo. A las 16.30 lo recojo del colegio y después hacemos varios planes juntos; si no hace frío vamos al parque donde nos encontramos con otros amigos, mientras que en los días fríos nos organizamos con otras madres e hijos para ir a merendar en algún sitio o quedar en casa de alguien (normalmente nos turnamos). En verano solíamos subir a la terraza de nuestro piso, donde colocamos una pequeña piscina para que Leonardo y sus amigos jueguen, mientras nosotras mamás nos tomamos algo y charlamos.
José vuelve sobre las 20.00, Leonardo está cenando a esa hora. Pasamos una hora juntos los tres. Sobre las 9.00 vamos al cuarto de Leonardo, nos tumbamos los tres y contamos cuentos, hablamos del día, rezamos y cantamos.
El fin de semana pasamos cada momento del día juntos, pero siempre nos gusta hacer planes con amigos.

What is your favorite part about raising a family in Madrid?

EN: Madrid is a very warm city, with life being a little expensive, the good weather allows for a quality of life. It’s really big but well structured, only lacking a bicycle lane to encourage people of the city to be more ‘green’. Being able to spend time outdoors in the streets provides for a good time and that results in being more thankful, grateful, and appreciative, especially with our children. There are also many theaters and sports activities, it is a city where it is impossible to get bored and the children grow with an active mindset.

ES: Veo Madrid como una ciudad muy cálida, además siendo la vida poco cara, permite una calidad de vida mejor que en otras ciudades. Es muy grande, pero está bien estructurada, solo le faltan carriles bici para incentivar a los ciudadanos a ser más “green”
El buen tiempo hace que la gente viva mucho en la calle y eso resulta muy agradecido, sobre todo con los niños. Hay muchos teatros y actividades de deporte, es una ciudad donde es imposible aburrirse y los niños crecen con una mentalidad muy activa.

We absolutely loved working with her, follow her journey:



Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.